Make Yourself A Priority

Priority (noun): [definition provided by Google]

  • a person, a thing, a fact or a condition that is regarded or treated as more important than another.
  • the right to take precedence or to proceed before others.

What does priority mean to you? If you’re anything like Google, you’ll think that prioritizing something is making¬†that something more important or more significant than another thing in your life.

For example, if we think back to math class in high school, here’s an equation:

2 > 1
Me > You

Do you see anything significant here? This analogy shows that the “greater than” sign is a signifier for ‘priorities’ in our daily lives.

Take another example: I have school work to do this weekend but I’m focusing on the assignment that is worth more to my overall grade than anything else. What am I doing? Prioritizing.

We prioritize all day, every day. If there’s an apple and an orange on your kitchen table, and you pick up the apple. What did you do? You prioritized the apple over the orange. The apple became your number 1 preference.

Now, you might be thinking, “What does this have to do with anything? So what? I prioritize things in my life. What’s the point?” Good question, kind reader. The point of this blog post is not to point out the obvious. It’s to point out what we are doing WRONG.

My friends, as you go through your day, do you ever stop and think “what should I do to make myself smile today?” or “what can I do to give myself support today?” We are so flooded with the urge to help others and to make others feel good, that we tend to forget about ourselves. YOU, fellow reader, are a priority. You are your own priority. This is something we need to fix.

So, I’ll make this short and sweet. The next time you think about all of the crazy things you have to do during your week (whether that is school work, work in general, family life, friendship links, etc.) I suggest you stop and take a few minutes to ask yourself what YOU want. Prioritize yourself. Make yourself happy.

Here are some things that I do to prioritize myself:
1) I grab a skim-milk mocha at Second Cup. Yes, I’m spending $5.00 on a coffee, but hey…I’m smiling and that’s all that matters!
2) I meet up with some friends to study. It may be a little more distracting…but there’s more dopamine flowing through my system!
3) I listen to music, new and old. Whatever gets me confident and ready for the day.

Screen Shot 2016-11-13 at 3.46.44 PM.png
While these three things are personal preferences, you should think about what you like to do that is easy and helpful for YOU during the week. Whether it’s something small like having a coffee with yourself at a coffee shop, or something big like splurging on a dinner out, make it your own.

Prioritizing others and things in your life is easy. What’s hard is to remember to prioritize yourself. It isn’t selfish – it’s necessary. Whatever makes you smile, do it. That’s all that counts.

Leave a Reply

