Jungle of the Mind, a poem

I have never been a butterfly
Always have I existed as a charismatic caterpillar
Chasing her way through the jungle of life

I have never been a bird
My wondrous wings never fully developed
But, I hop along, regardless

I have never been a lion
Always a cub, always taken care of
I can’t roar, but I can cry louder than any other

I have never been truly human
I exist only in my mind, waiting for my force, my militia, to combat my fantasies
My brain remains all-powerful as I continue to pretend

Leave a Reply

